What to Say… What to Say?

blog_logo

What to Say… What to Say?

What I want to describe as unfortunate, yet might be exactly what my professor was hoping to get across with such an activity, is that I am having a hard time creating unique blogs, especially in relation to the course material. However, it is not that there is a lack of content to talk about, or that I can’t come up with content that I would like to talk about, but that my classmates seem to beat me to my topics on nearly every occasion (sorry Autumn).

This seems to adhere to the direction that the content of the course has taken over the past few months. It depicts how fast paced web 2.0 transpires information, and how quickly that same content disappears. It showed me just how fast I must update my blog in order to stay on top of the game (and I say on top instead of ahead because that seems nearly impossible). Although, I am sure that touching base on the same topics as other people is bound to happen, I would like to have a unique twist to my blogs so things remain fresh and free of repetition.

I believe the revelation of the overload of information from a variety of sources justifies the underlying information that can be discerned in Rebecca Blood’s article and Danah Boyd’s article, that suggests we have an abundance of information at our disposal, and with the creation of Web 2.0 and with blogging the amount continues to increase. Thus, ideas and information that are being passed around are often redundant.

The excess of information on the internet now requires people to intelligently filter through the information and discover the truth. The ability to create hoaxes is effortless for a person interested in computer development, as is the ability to create and twist stories for the average person. Thus, as average people (aka. Students), we have the ability to create vast amounts of information on the same subject by putting our own spin on things. We create unique arguments in which the public have to decide which view they want to accept as real or as too far of a stretch.

What my professor made apparent to me was that there is an endless amount of information on any given subject, and unless you have an outstanding, so far out of the box idea that has never been thought up before, there is going to be over lap. Web 2.0 has uncontrollable access to it, so what you say has been said before, what you do has been done before, and your thoughts are already memes. Uniqueness is a stretch and, as Danah Boyd might argue, we must be our own librarians: skeptical and in search of the truth.

4 responses to “What to Say… What to Say?

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more Alison! And sorry for sniping the topics haha but I definitely think this is a huge effect of web 2.0. Think about a big news topic or any trending topic, all you have to do is type in one word on Google and you will have a million results. Everyone talking about the exact same thing but in a million different ways. This is what we touched on in our presentation as well – it could be a good thing because we are getting a variety of viewpoints, allowing us to see numerous sides to a story, but it causes an endless sea of information that is almost impossible to sort through.
    In my experience, you have to obtain some serious skill in order to be effective in finding the right information you’re looking for online. So the way I see it is, why not add to the pile! This is something that has sort of helped me in writing my blogs is the potential that no one outside of this class will read it, which frees up my mind to write about what I’m feeling in any way I want.

  2. I think your way of looking at things will be beneficial to me. I need to be less concerned with what other people have said and just start writing what I think and feel. No matter what I say I will be reiterating what someone else has, so I’m ready to start piling things on.

  3. I think you bring up some good points in your blog. It is definitely challenging to come up with 100% original blogs, we will always have some over lap in ideas as we all have developed a strong background with citizen media and the public sphere. I think it is cool that we’ve all posted about citizen media as it gives us different perspectives and the different views can only make our own perspectives richer. Web 2.0 has been able to speed up how things go viral and how easily our society can gather lots of information on a specific topic. Do you think the shift from web 1.0 to web 2.0 has had a significant impact on our ability to gather information?

  4. Hi Val,
    I believe that changing from web 1.0 to web 2.0 has made it more difficult because web 2.0 has made it so easy to create false information and there is more of an onus on us to determine what is real and what is false. Despite the fact that this may make me sound naive, I believe that the information on web 1.0 was more truthful and believable because it was harder to create. There was more responsibility on the creators to bring us information that was useful and real and all we had to do was search for it. With the shift in responsibility and the ease of creating information, who is to know what the truth is and what is made up? So, yes, I do think there was a significant impact on our ability to gather information.

Leave a Reply

